Blind side reverses?

Hi there everybody, i have just discovered your real world, and down to earth forum drivers site. I am a very new driver to the HGV world, ( but not for to long i hope ). I passed my class 2 on the 18th October this year, on my second attempt, and am taking my class 1 test on the 12th December.

My question is, and i’m sure there’s a simple explation for it, What is a blind side reverse ■■. I am doing my training and my test in a drawbar and drag oufit. i have also being told that it is the simplest type of outfit to reverse, is it ?

Just like some off your other new licence holders, i too have been told that you need 2 years experince, after ringing just about ever transport company in the phone book in a 30 mile radius of Berwick upon tweed, does anybody no off any companys that take on new licence holders anywhere here’s abouts ?

Many thanks,

Pan Man.

Blind side is exactly what it says. If you are driving a right-hand drive truck and you need to reverse onto bays on the right-hand side then as you are already sitting on that side of the truck then you can stick yer head out of the window and watch your trailer turn in. AKA reversing on your good side.

Now if the bays you need to reverse on to are on your left hand side then obviously you can’t stick your head out of the passenger window (unless you’ve got a really long neck :laughing: ) so therefore you can’t physically see what your trailer is doing hence having to solely rely on your n/s mirrors, hence it being a blind side reverse.

Unless you like making life difficult for yourself or you just like the challenge of reversing blind, you should try to avoid them where ever possible. Usually you just need to apply a bit of thought and see if there’s any way you can get turned round so that the place you want to stick your trailer is your good side. More often than not, you can.