Blind reversing on assesment

mmm :unamused: had a assesment today 6 of us ,class 1 for a large supermarket. 1st thing was a reverse on bay, you get 2 goes if you fail its bye bye! really felt the pressure, i did it , then did the blind reverse on to a park up bay, i did that had to shunt on all the reversing tasks, i found the blind reverse really difficult , we was never taught that at training! anyhow myself an another guy passed after a road test, and was offered a job! great!!! only thing i was told that lots of their shops they deliver to are really tight an a lot are blind reverses!! this has put me off a bit as i know as a newbie i need to be able to do this but seems a bit daunting, i have another assesment next week with another supermarket so i will try to pass that an see what i think, how do you experienced guys cope with blind reversing? or have i just lost my bottle! i did it today but will i get more confident or dread them forever!

I used to cope with blind reversing by not being afraid to get out of the cab and have a look if needs be!

It’s not so bad - after a while you get a feel for how the trailer is going - but if in doubt - get out :wink:

Remember also that once you are on the job you can take an extra shunt or two without failing anything :smiley:

Good luck with the new job!

blindside reversing used to scare the **** outta me too.

but as has been said alraedy don’t be afriad to get out and look (GOAL)

or to ask someone to watch you back.

i found the blindsiding into spaces where there was pleanty of space when i didn’t have to, helped get the technique down, and if it all turned pear shaped, i could just swing it round and reverse in on the right side.

bigest thing is to get out and look, better to get out the cab twice than do 2 grands worth of damage.

best of luck