Bit of honest advise please

Hi all.

I’m new to the forum and I’m seeking a bit of advice from those that know the industry best.

I’m 30, had my class 2 licence for near 5 years, the plan was to have my class 1 & ADR by now but 2 years ago I was offered a job a Warehouse & Transport Manager for a small company that I was a class 2 driver for.

I loved my job on the road, I was driving all over the country doing the odd night out and getting paid overtime for doing over 40 hours per week. Probably averaged a 54 hour week every week with no more than 1 night out per week. However, I took a chance at the Management side of the game with the thought that I will always have my HGV licence to fall back on should I not enjoy it. Within 2 months I wanted my old job back but I was told that I couldn’t have my old job back, I was gutted but the feeling between me and my missus was that maybe I haven’t given the Management side a real go so I enrolled at night school to study leadership & management in order to enhance my understanding of the role and in turn help me become a better manager.

It worked and I have been doing the job for 18 months now, however I quite simply hate my job, I don’t enjoy it one bit although I am quite decent at it. I earn just less than 25k per year, I am doing 10-12 hour shifts every day as due to the recession I am not allowed any extra staff.