Becoming a driver

Morning all, first-time poster here altho I have looked around the site previously.
Apologies as I’m sure this question has been asked many times before.
I’m looking to get a driving job ASAP and have recently passed my medical and have an assessment drive on 12th April with a view to doing the category c test which I may follow up with c+e. The problem I have is no experience in a truck. I work in sales around the North West (live in merseyside) and I’ve had enough, nearly walked out with no job to go to a few times which the missus wouldn’t be too happy about. I also recently passed the forklift counterbalance test and am doing the reach test soon as I hoped it may help me get out of sales and even be of use in a driving job??
I’ll do a temporary job if necessary altho I have to give 4wks notice to my employer. I’m also looking at courier work just to get some experience but so far no good. I know Stobarts run an apprenticeship but at 35 I’m not certain I’m what they’re looking for!
Any help & advice for a newbie who needs a break is appreciated!
Cheers

Bert77:
Morning all, first-time poster here altho I have looked around the site previously.

Hi Bert77,
Yes mate, it’s been asked before, but we’ll always do our best to give you a good answer. :smiley:

Bert77:
I’m looking to get a driving job ASAP and have recently passed my medical and have an assessment drive on 12th April with a view to doing the category c test which I may follow up with c+e. The problem I have is no experience in a truck. …

You and lots of others are in a similar position mate, but then again, so was everybody else because everybody has faced the “no experience” thing at some early point in their driving career.

Bert77:
I also recently passed the forklift counterbalance test and am doing the reach test soon as I hoped it may help me get out of sales and even be of use in a driving job??

Congratulations on passing your FLT test.