Basic rate of pay for hgv1

ive been offerd a job driving hgv 1 out of felixstowe ie containers the firm has the same name as a famous cider. they have offerd £6.50 an hour. it sounds a bit measaly to me. whats the basic rate roughly for a class 1 ? as im not working at present ive no idea of the basic rate ? any one got any tips for container work ? as its my first time with containers.

Hows longs a piece of string.

Just depends, i personally think £6.50 is too low for driving a class 1. I’d looking at at least £7.50 p/h and even then kinda bottom of the scale.

Saying that depends on experience and work avialable in your area, if you don’t have much experience maybe it is worthwhile for awhile to gain experience.

I love driving trucks but can be stressfull with really long unsociable hours and is a huge responsabilty, at £6.50 p/h i’d think maybe not worth my while where you can get paid more working in a supermarket for set hours and a lot less stress.

Depends on the area, to be honest, and I’m not up to speed with what average rates area in Felixstowe at the moment. Assuming the job is for who I think it is, it’ll be their new depot down there and they are trying to get away with with paying what they do on Teesside, where that is the normal rate - if it isn’t right for the area, they’ll struggle and hence have to put it up.

That said, they’re a good enough lot, decent kit, etc etc etc and as a newbie you’d be a fool to turn down anything which gives you a foot in the door. Once you’re “about on the docks” you’ll soon get to hear what else is going and at what rates - the best jobs are never advertised anyway.

I’m currently looking for class 2 work and the minimum i’m seeing is 6.50 an hour more usually 7-8ph. For me I doubt i’d work a class 1 for that, you get paid more working checkouts in Lidl… But as said, it’s a chance at experience without having to drive a clapped out dog of a truck or running the insecurity of agency work.