BAD WAGES

I am new to this forum and I have enjoyed reading it over the last month or so, what I have come accross is that the general feeling is that being a HGV driver is a poorly paid profession.

I am currently in my last week of my 2 week notice period at a company where I was employed as a Warehouse & Transport Manager, my salary was just shy of 25k per year and my net pay each month was £1600 which works out as £370 take home per week. The job involved working a minimum 50 hours and more often than not I’d be doing 60.

It was the same when I worked in sales, earned around 23-24k per year but worked 50-60 hours per week. Constantly having to lick bum in order to hit targets etc.

My new job will earn me between £350 & £450 per week depending on how many nights out and whether I do a Sat/Sunday and in my opinion it will be less stressful and more enjoyable than being a manager or a sales rep.

My point is that in most jobs you have to put the hours in to get the money but I don’t hear many sales reps or managers/supervisors stating they get paid poorly when they consider the hours they have to put in.

Probably because managers and sales reps get a good bonus.

bald bloke:

Bit of a simplistic view if you ask me, not every sales rep or manager get good bonuses. In fact the majority of sales based roles will have a basic of around 18k per year maybe 20k then the rest would be made up in bonuses but the graft will have to be done to earn those bonuses.

In my experience with regards management, I didn’t get any bonuses. Maybe thats not the norm I’m not sure but the hours put in for both professions were comparable with any driving job I have ever done. The 1 big difference would only be the being away from home aspect.

RACHACE:

bald bloke: