Back to school

I’m going back to school!

Finally going for my CPCS mobile crane licence in Newark.
Have driven trucks in the UK, Europe, North America, New Zealand and Scandinavia but it’s time for a change.

Can’t help feeling that transport is only a service industry where clients are just looking to get their ■■■■ moved from A to B as cheaply as possibly and I have lost enthusiasm for the job at the moment.

Been feeling like a waste of space for a while and want to try something different that interests me.
Doing a 4 day course and test day should be Thursday or Friday next week.

If I manage to get through it I’ll be out job hunting the following week with a bit of luck.
So although I’m an experienced driver I’m going back to being a newbie in some ways.

Thought about doing a training diary but as it’s not exactly HGV related it might not be relevant on here.

Good for you mate!

Its great you still want to learn new skills after having so much hgv experience,wow!

This is all so new to me,Ive got my c+e test tomorrow.

All the best!

Do a diary, do a diary!!!

I’d say it is relevant, as you can’t drive that without at least a VAN licence! :wink:
Plus I’ve considered looking into cranes, as there are a few firms very near me…

The bit that worries/puts me off is that i fear the job will be as boring as watching paint dry.
So as well as a diary, i’d love to know how it goes for the first few months and whether it’s how I imagine it to be.

Best of luck with your training and test! :smiley:

It was test day today…
Reminded me of a boxing match…

We went over the rules in the dressing room…
Protect yourself and others at all times and what the slinger says you must obey…
Take your time, “jab” the controls and score points during each round of lifting…
No big swings… Don’t get knocked out!!

1 hour allowed for the theory test consisting of 73 questions.
Then 3 hours for the practical but I got round in just under 2.5 hours.