Back Problems

Well yesterday i thought i had ended my career as a professional driver, I was in the back of my 7.5t fridge just about to climb down using the steps, when they came unclipped and i ended up landing ontop of them on the tarmac.

I was in agony, the air turned blue and tbh i feel sorry for anyone around me at that time as i was shouting some obscenities. The depot i was at called for a Meat Wagon, and they told the girls over the phone not to let me move. i was on the Wet and Cold tarmac for about 10 minutes, during which time the initial pain had subsided and i now felt like i had gone 10 rounds with mike tyson, and just felt bruised and beaten. I thought i had broken my back at first, but i had no loss of feeling, no loss of movement etc.

Paramedics got there and got me to slowly see if i could stand up, checked my back, and i have 3 grazes on my back / bum where i hit the ladders. They were happy to either take me to get checked at liverpool hospital (leaving the truck and £3k of chilled perishables - and no way of getting back to the truck after being seen) or to let me get on my way.

I chose the latter of the 2 and decided to do the last 2 drops i had, luckily the lads at wehere i was tipping were quite understanding when i told them ’ normally i’d handball them off to you but ive done my back in, [showed my back and the grazes]’ and they unloaded the truck for me :slight_smile:

My place were very understanding aswell when i told them id had a fall, they said ‘its upto you mate, if you feel you cant carry on then dont, but if you can carry on dont rush , take your time.’ the only upside to this is that weekends is overtime rate all shift. :slight_smile:

Got home after drivng as carefully as i could, both in the truck and the car, so as to avoid being thrown about the cab / front of car, and to reduce the impact of potholes. Picked the wife up and promptly went up to A+E to get checked over.