Axles

Hi all hopefully I don’t sound too much of an idiot for asking these questions but I’m still new to it all so here goes.ive seen afew trucks while out and about that have axles on both the tractor and trailer where some are lowered while others I have seen are up and not touching the road.what is the purpose of these axles???i was thinking maybe even weight etc etc but could be soooo wrong. :laughing:
Is it the drivers responsibility for operating this axles or do they operate themselves when maybe the correct weight is on the trailer■■?
Sorry for asking maybe a silly question but my grandma used to say the only questions that are silly are the ones you don’t ask. :grimacing:
Thanks,scottythegeordie

You thought correct. Axles which lift on units and trailers r fir weight purposes, some have different configurments I;e mid lift or tag axle, truck lift axles work on weight on the tractor unit, they will automatically drop when a heavy load is on board which helps with stopping over loading and stability. Once empty they should be lifted to help with traction and also saves unnessacery wear and tear once lifted off the ground, hope this helps

just to add a bit to what Mark said, they will automatically drop to the ground when the weight is too much for the others, but, they do not automatically lift when empty, the driver usually has to push a button on the truck/trailer to raise the axle

Do you mean on skeletal trailers where the axles appear to be in the middle of the trailer.

These are two 7 meter trailers coupled together.The front trailer has a sort of 5th wheel on the back which locks into the rear trailer and has guides to lock the whole assembly into one rigid unit.

It was originally a Dutch idea I think for carting 20 foot containers round Europoort so one tractor could deliver two box units.Drop one with its own trailer and the truck could then go and deliver the second box elsewhere.Both trailers can act as independent units.