Australia

Hi to all. I am new to Trucknet so please excuse any mistakes.
I am wondering if anyone has any information on driving jobs in Australia.More importantly how easy it is to emigrate to OZ and if HGV driving is considered a skill that will get you into the country. Any help would be much appreciated.
Cheers
Bertie :smiley: [/b]

Welcome to TN Bertie, but I suggest you use the search facility, this subject has been covered before.
Briefly, as is common throughout the world, our profession is not considered a skill and I think that for this reason entry to Oz is not easy.

Welcome :smiley: As stated above this has been discussed before,but I can tell you that HGV driving is NOT a skill in the eyes of the Australian Govt and therefore you have no chance of migrating on a skilled occupation visa as a driver…Can i suggest you look at www.emi-great.com. A word of caution, this is not easy and I should know, it’s been 2 years now but I am starting to see light at the end of the tunnel,but it will all be worth it to make that dream move so…good luck and feel free to p.m me if you need any help.Oh and by the way , have you always been a driver? If not what did you do before?What does your wife do?(if your married that is)you could apply thru her, especially if she is a hairdresser :open_mouth:

If Oz is an option as opposed to set in stone, consider Canada. They are helping drivers to get here through different programmes.

Also, I hear NZ is easier than Australia to get into.

Thanks for all your responses. Australia would be first choice due to the climate but as I thought appears to be very difficult to get into certainly without a sponsor. I am currently an operations manager for a catering company and I drive at the weekends. Unfortunately this is not a skill in demand.My wife is thinking about training to be a nurse but that takes time and that is against us due to her age.
I :frowning:

Hi Bertie,