Attention Lady Truckers!

Hey there. I’m a London based photographer and photographers assistant interested in undertaking a personal photography project that explores the lives and experiences of female truck drivers.

As an assistant I have spent a fair amount of time stuck on motorways, watching the trucks and the truck stop cafes go by, wondering about the quite unseen lives of those keeping our supermarket’s and gas pumps full. Eventually this wondering turned into an idea to explore it as a photography project, but in particular from the point of view of the women drivers involved. I had the idea to do this some time ago but had issues with equipment and insurance, which is all sorted out now.

If you, or anyone you may know, would be interested in sharing your experiences and some time with a friendly female photographer please drop me a line, I can then point you across to my website so you can get an idea of the kind of work I do (which is mainly journalism, social documentation and editorial portraiture - apparently can’t post website html’s here?).

This is not associated with any particular media group, it is a personal project to build up my portfolio, if the oppurtunity did arise to publish any work it would only be with the express permission of those participating.

This request has also been ok’d by the forum moderator.

Many thanks and I look forward to hearing from you,
Amy

To be honest Amy, you’ll find very few experienced female drivers who are in any way interested in the limelight. Those of us who’ve been doing it for any length of time are so heartily bored of being singled out that the last thing we would do is add to that. It simply isn’t a big enough deal any more. Myself, I’ve had 8 years of being stared at, and whilst there is nothing like the prejudice that used to exist, it still gets really old.