At least... Some job for next two weeks :)

I was yesterday in my local Driver Hire to drop some time sheets. I asked them why they advertising for jobs if they have me in the books. They told me that they weren’t sure if I would accept van driving job with up to 45 drops per day paid 6.45 per hour or even less.

I told them that’s it’s true that in the past I used not to touch anything below 7.50, but times had changed and that nowadays 6.45 per hour is almost 6.50 per hour more then I am earning now :smiley: so I am happy to take everything. And so I am a multidrop van driver now :wink:

First day wasn’t so bad - I came there, then i was reading my magazine for over two hours (job of my dreams - they pay me for reading!), then I had three drops to do - two in Glasgow and one in Irvine, then I came back and did two drops - one just arround the corner, one near Strathaven, then I was reading the paper again until they asked me to herp sort the parcels… That wasnt a astrophysics - put these with letters A or B on it at the first roller and these with C or D at the second roller. Then I had to do one collection in Aidrie and went home.

Lucky me I am driving a transit van, not sprinter, so it don’t have this stupid ASR system and I can drift a bit on country roads covered by mud - I just love it :stuck_out_tongue:

So let’s see how it will be over next weeks. I am affraid that it won’t be so easy all the time, and I am already sick when I will think about digging in the van for parcels - I hate it …

But it’s always some job and altough is paid so poor it’s always beter to be sure of this 6 quids per hour then to have hope for 8 or even 10 and finally take nothing…

Btw to the thread about foreigners taking british jobs: how it’s possible that there is so many drivers crying for jobs and agency has a problem to fill this van driving posts?

well good for you dont tell anybody else though cos they will all want a go :wink: :wink: