Assessment drive

Hi guys,

Iam looking for some advice… I’ve got a driving assessment coming up and was looking for some advice. Basically I past my class 1 in April and haven’t yet driven so I’ve got no experience. I was wondering if anyone had any tips for me to be successful. Iam a little nervous as I haven’t driven since passing etc. Iam probably over thinking too much which is probs normal. They know I haven’t got any experience so I suppose there not expecting me to be great anyway. Replies would be appreciated.

Cheers

To guarantee success, just answer all the questions correctly, show the right attitude and have a perfect assessment drive. Reverse wherever they tell you without any faults or imperfections (including blindside if required) and you’ll nail it.

However, if reality kicks in and you find that you’re not actually perfect yet, just do the best you can and be honest with them. If you’re inexperienced a good driver trainer/assessor will try to help you out. They’ll give you an easier reverse, they’ll probably talk you through it and give you a hand. If you can’t blindside it yet then maybe they’ll let you off for the time being, and suggest a week or two of supervision and training if they give you the job. The main thing is to have the right attitude - provided you’re fundamentally sound and not a danger on the road you stand a good chance.

Don’t overthink it, just do the best that you can. Let them judge you for what you really are, that’s the safest way.

Hopefully il be OK just not driving for months after passing is making me nervous… hope it’s not a blindside reverse lol only done reversing during training and on the test… but they might take it into account that iam a newbie fingers crossed. Looking good forward to it as well. Do you usually couple and un couple as well. Cheers