Are Bus and Coach Drivers Professional Drivers?

Discuss…

…and vote!

Whats to discuss?

of course they are!

Yep defo

my defenition of a professional is someone who drives for a living.

simon

yes,having both licences I believe I am a professional driver.
If you undergo a test to get the qualification, to get to the top of your chosen career then yes professional you are
(hope that makes sense)

Andy

i don’t drive coaches but would say that a coach driver has to be more professional than us and they are too.
how many times has your load got out and walked up to you and told you that you drive too fast around corners?
how many times has your load called your boss to complain about your driving too close to the vehicle in front?
lets face it, we have to put up with motorists on the road making life hell for us, imagine if they were there in the cab with you.

Oxford dictionary definition of “professional”

engaged in specified activity as one’s main paid occupation

SimonRS2K:
Yep defo

simon

Hmm, but this would put Mr Parcel Man and Mrs “I drive for the local florists” in the professional driver category.

Another post has discussed the issue of licences, if you do a specific test to get the licence you are deemed a professional. Are taxi drivers professional drivers? They’re driving all day, but never undergone special tests for the priviledge.

What do people think of a vocational licence type test? If you are going to be using your licence, whatever category, for the purpose of making money then you must undergo a test to deem you are fit to do so. Just an idea anyway. Although of course more tests means more money means the DSA get even fatter pockets and ours get thinner yet more.

If you pass a test to get the Qalifacation then we are professional drivers . That is what I had always been taught & thought. (I hold both HGV & PSV.)