Applying for jobs requiring experience

Hi Folks,

I’m just wondering, is it worth applying for jobs that require ‘experience’ although I’m not experienced but having the enthusiasm that certainly more than makes up for it! Also if anyone knows of any agencies around west yorkshire that hire van drivers feel free to share the information :smiley:

Cheers

Jonny :sunglasses:

Depends on how the jobs word the “experience” bit.

If its, do you have at least two years truck driving experience, well then you may be out of luck, but apply anyway.

if its, do you have at least two years experience, then you can blag it as they mention nothing about “truck” driving experience.

I personally have nearly a quarter million miles of experience on the road in a commercial goods vehicle, unfortunately its only a Mercedes Sprinter, a mini truck so to speak, but it’s experience still.

Are you not getting on at sainsburys ?

I’ve not heard anything back from them yet, and I’m just exploring all bases at the moment :slight_smile:

Cheers

jonnytruckfest:
I’m just wondering, is it worth applying for jobs that require ‘experience’ although I’m not experienced but having the enthusiasm that certainly more than makes up for it!

There’s no doubt you’re enthusiastic and although that’s admirable, it certainly does not make up for your complete lack of driving experience.

You’ve successfully learnt how to pass the driving test. You now need to go and learn how to drive. This will take a while. :wink:

Unless I get given the chance I’ll never get given the experience. :wink: I could have many years on the road but non of which of me having ever driven a van which again would put me in the experience issue. I’m not claiming to be the best driver, but I’m learning :slight_smile: