Anyone give a start up some advice?

Other than dont bother mate lol !!!

Ok i’ll try and keep it short…and btw hello to everyone as its my first post.

Ive been driving class 2 now for about 4-5 years and have been given the opportunity by a family member to cover the transport side of the company he works for if i can manage to do so.

I’ll save the ins and outs… but basically need a curtain side rigid 18T to run out of there 4-5 days a week to cover all there loads. Im looking at renting one long term to start out ( No fixed contract) which works out around just under £400 per week. Is this expensive??

The company he works for hold an ops license which if im correct i can run off ■■ which allows me to rent the lorry. Im aware i need vehicle insurance and contents insurance which i have to do seperately myself, so i would also love some heads up on decent insurance companys and maybe an estimate figure of how much all the insurance is going to cost per year?

Im sure there is probably a hell of alot im missing here but good information is hard to come by on this topic and trust me ive been trying.

Ive worked out around a £800 per week fuel plus lorry rental £400 and insurance on top plus various other overheads around £1500 a week outgoings … Or am i crazy??

Any help would be massively appreciated so i can finally get moving on this before i miss the opportunity.

Cheers Trig

You will need your own O licence to hire a vehicle…

Are you 100% sure on that? The only reason i ask is, when i had a conversation with the rental place they didnt seem to be too bothered about using the other companies one.

I have also heard of other ppl running rental wagons off of other ppls Op license.

Trigga_UK:
The company he works for hold an ops license which if im correct i can run off ■■

You cannot run your own separate operation off someone elses O licence. If you’re unsure then you’re better off confirming with VOSA than going on hearsay.