Any recovery drivers out there?

Will be starting with an independent recovery firm in the next few weeks.

The firm uses ex AA flat bed Renault trucks about 59 or 09 plate so nice units.

Any tips for a complete novice?
What to expect, tools to carry, things no recovery driver should be without, tricks of the trade etc etc etc…

You will not need any tools. the vehicle has been looked at by “roadside” who have decided that it is in need of recovery. Do not swear in front of client. It is “broke” with a capital F. Treat the casualty vehicle as your own, would you do that if it was your own? Get the punter/s out of danger asap. in your cab. Do a damage report asap and get punter to sign it, with a comment like “No further damage on recovery”
Enjoy it while it lasts, You will be doing long hours.

I used to do it. Hopefully its a good company as most will burn you out then replace you. It a love or hate job, I loved it. Not knowing what each job is.
Just 1 bit of advice always wear good clean hi viz and be safe.

Where in the world are you?

Thanks fella’s.
From speaking to other drivers in the firm it seems like a good place to work, one of their drivers have been there for 6months.

I am in Watford.

Not on recovery as such but I collect salvage cars from bodyshops, your winch is your best friend along with a good set of brothers and a ■■■■■■ block, hopefully theyll teach you all this.

We don’t have to take as much care as you recovery lads, but we do have to squeeze more on the truck, if your going to be using the spec lift bear in mind you need a class 1 license. I always use 2 straps on each wheel when putting one in the spec, some will say not needed but I feel alot happier that way, the normal spec strap that you’ll see and one normal strap clipped together and round the circumfrence of the wheel.