Any advice for an assessment drive?

Hey fellas

Ive been quiet on here lately as most of my spare times been spent job hunting and handing in my CV to haulers in my area with no luck as im a newbie and most places want 2 years on my licence.

After being messed about by an agency ive finally found some luck with a local very well known company near me through their own agency.

Ive got an assessment drive booked in an artic next Thursday. Theyre saying not to worry too much about it as if im not that confident yet then they can find me some class C work anyway. Theyre happy to let me do alternate weekends for now as i really cant afford to leave my boring but reliable full time job at the mo which they appreciate.

I passed my test in a wagon and drag in May then had a few hours in an Artic in July but no driving since or between. I did pretty well in the artic but hit a couple of kerbs while i was getting used to the difference in going the longer way round all the corners to allow for the trailer. The only driving ive ever done otherwise is while i was training for my tests and im a bit worried im out of practise.

The assessor knows im a newbie and its been a while since ive been in an HGV and hes forwarded me some revision material to go over in the meantime.

Has anyone got any advice for me at all? Need to get back in the zone :sunglasses:

From what you say, you shouldn’t really have anything to worry about. They know you are new and will probably make mistakes, and as such what they will be looking for is BIG mistakes. By that I mean expensive ones! :laughing: