Another split rest

I feel i should know this but as i don’t really have to worry about long hours etc its gone out of my brain :blush:

We have recently gone 4 on 2 off, As we have the chance to do a extra shift i quickly thought at first we could do a extra shift every other week. Then another driver pointed out if had Sun/Monday off you could not do Tues / Wed /Thurs / Friday then a extra shift Saturday Sunday rest and back in Monday as the first Sun / Mond off is counted as a split rest because its not in the same week :open_mouth:

Also if the week starts sunday midnight and i’m a night driver not finishing whilst Monday morning i’m never going to work it out :laughing:

danny_mk2:
Then another driver pointed out if had Sun/Monday off you could not do Tues / Wed /Thurs / Friday then a extra shift Saturday Sunday rest and back in Monday as the first Sun / Mond off is counted as a split rest because its not in the same week :open_mouth:

Tell the other driver he’s talking rubbish :unamused:

A weekly rest that falls in two weeks (Sunday/Monday) can count for either week but not both, it’s still a regular weekly rest as long as it’s 45 hours or more regardless of the fact that all 45 hours don’t fall in the same week :wink:

If the rest period is more than 24 hours but less than 45 hours it’s a reduced weekly rest regardless of whether or not the whole rest period falls in the same week.

Hope this helps :wink:

Cheers i wanted to tell him he was talking rubbish but he was so convincing i just started to doubt myself. Like i say not had to really worry about tacho regs only the basics. So am i right in thinking that on a 4 on 2 off i could work a fith shift every other 4 on?

Cheers

Depends, how long is your usual weekly rest ?