another newbie

hi,
i have recently passed my class 2 (2 weeks ago) and like all newbies i am struggling like hell to get work due to the “2 yrs minimum experience” and “maximum 3 points”
i have however been offered a position with a haulage company but as a self employed driver but with regular work and was wondering if anyone had any advice etc in good old plain english as im not the brightest spark lol
ive never been self employed and after looking on some of the forums i am now completely confused :blush:

thanks in advance
shayne

self employed is easy, keep note of all your income (obviously) Also keep receipts for everything you need to spend “on work” eg digs, meals, work boots anything. You pay the tax and NI on your pay/income and claim back the VAT from all your receipts. It sounds harder and more complecated than it is. The up side is you have been offered the chance to get the all important experience we all need, (I’m also a noob passed the cat c on the 16th of jan and my mod 4 cpc this morning) grab it and run with it. It if turn out to be crap at least you got some miles under your belt.

thanks danny and congrats by the way :smiley:
i am chomping at the bit as i know i need the all important experience i was just put off a little bit by the self employed bit as it seemed a bit daunting to me

all you need to do is keep a paper trail of all moneys and do a self assesment at the end of the tax year, it takes about 20-30mins to do.

:smiley: :smiley:

Why self employed and what do they mean with regular work, is it a job or just a standby?

thanks ROG passed with NO minors :grimacing: lol