..... Another new job

After being off the road and jobless for 4 months i was offered 2 perm jobs on the same day,one slightly better money than the other,also the better paying job 10 mins down the road from home.

Its a very old school general haulage company (est 1870 with horse and cart) even the transport office has the decor from 1969 including the oak desks and the obligatory framed photo of a spitfire on the wall . With only 3 or 4 drivers and 2 blokes in the office ,its a mixture of rigid hiab work and artic IBC chemical transportation all flat beds. I have zero experience of class 1,but because i had the right attitude and always willing to learn they are giving me a chance,they turned down two lads with decades of experience between them,i was asked at the interview if i could rope and sheet as well as tie dolly knots :open_mouth: (thats not in the DCPC !) so my point being is to never give up you will get your chance persistence is the key.

thats brill news mate congratulations wish you all the best with your new job , and the nice thing is with such a small firm you wont be just a number but part of the family :smiley:

jenx

Excellent news, Roadrunner - congratulations.

It sounds like you have found yourself an employer with some ‘people values’.

I do like to hear a bit of good news like this - gives us all heart.

Thanks
Alan

Thanks folks just trying to give all newbies a bit of hope and encouragement. I was told there are 3 things they will not put up with 1,absenteeism 2,overloading 3,running bent. “What you see is what you get all bought and payed for” , “We don’t do GPS trackers”," We don’t do digicards either", " We don’t hassle drivers with phone calls, we know how long it takes to load, tip and get to each destination, if anything un-toward happens ring in and let us worry about it". Both blokes in the office are old hands so know the score.

roadrunner: