Another naive newbie here for advice and

Having just spoken to someone from Advantage HGV I thought I’d better do my research and found this forum.

Now that I know I’m better off with a trainer rather than a training broker (thanks to this forum!) the next question is:

IS IT REALLY WORTH ME GOING FOR THE HGV LICENCE AT THIS TIME?

The best people to ask are the people doing the job, so what do you honestly think the chances are for someone with a fresh licence to get regular work?

Thanks! :slight_smile:

Slim, but right place right time and prepared to drive pretty much anything legal to get a toe in the door and who knows.

You’ve already made the first correct step to avoid brokers.

Good luck.

I second everything that Coffeeholic has said.

And yes… Avoid the brokers at all costs.

Be prepared to drive 3.5t or 7.5t to ‘prove’ yourself. Give the agencies a look once you have your test passed.

Come back here with any questions. The only stupid one is the one you didn’t ask…

Good luck.

Dean

dar1976:
Come back here with any questions. The only stupid one is the one you didn’t ask…

Careful Dean, you don’t want me dragging up some threads to prove that that old saying is sadly no longer true do you? :wink: We’ve had some right stupid questions asked on here. :stuck_out_tongue: :stuck_out_tongue: :wink:

Coffeeholic:

dar1976:

Careful Dean, you don’t want me dragging up some threads to prove that that old saying is sadly no longer true do you? :wink: We’ve had some right stupid questions asked on here. :stuck_out_tongue: :stuck_out_tongue: :wink:

But to be fair… They have kept us entertained Neil

dar1976:

Coffeeholic:

dar1976:

But to be fair… They have kept us entertained Neil

Indeed.

Hi there markgs1100!

Welcome onto the forum and it’s nice to see somebody doing a bit of snooping before paying any money out. It could save you a fair amount of money and hassle! :sunglasses: