Another CPC Question advice needed

So, i have been driving PCV for ages pre 2008 and i know that I have to do my CPC renewal before Sept 2013 not 2014.

I did my class 2 in April this year along with theory test and hazzard perception.

My class 1 is booked for beginning of June and fingers crossed all will go well.

Now the confusion comes, a friend who did his class 1 said he was automatically sent his new CPC card valid till 2019 when he passed his class 1 recently as it counted towards his 35 hours training.

Another has told me i still need to do 35 hours training before sept 2013 to get my card.

Another has said that as my PCV was sept 2013 my renewal will only be valid till 2018 not 2019 as with LGV even though im now driving LGV.

Another has told me it will automatically be valid until 2019 to bring the CPC for lgv and pcv in line.

Can anyone one tell me catagorily what exactly do i need to do to get my CPC renewed & how long will it me valid for?

Thanks in advance and you can see why i,m confused.

Madguy :smiling_imp:

One of the trainers will be able to give better advise on this as they’re dealing with the subject all the time but he’s what I think.

Your mates cat C+E would only count towards the DCPC training if the training company was registered with JAUPT, I’ve no idea how many driver training providers are JAUPT registered but I doubt there’s many.

When you do your 35 hours of training before 2013 I believe it will take you to 2018 unless you passed your driving test pre 1997 and have grandfather rights to DCPC in which case it will take you to 2019.

So I suppose the question is did you pass your driving test before 1997 which would mean you had cat C1 on your license before doing cat C in April ?

Yeh passed in 1985 and had C1 already on my licence

madguy: