Another Bridge,Another Bus

bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-surrey-32088386

Guessing the driver will get shafted! Used to work for a bus company before HGV, I was in the depot, not a driver. Anyway, a lot of people always said to me that it’s easy to forget you are driving a D/deck when you are usually driving a single. Not saying that this is an excuse, the driver should know his height but if he usually drives a single deck bus or coach then I guess you kinda run on autopilot and think you are in a single.
Myself, I have some sort of a weird OCD thing where if I see any height signs, even if it’s not the way I am going, I always look at my vehicle height, even though I know what my height is anyway!

Makes a refreshing change to see the roof ripped off.

Its normally the passengers.

Can’t see the problem, just use it as one of those open-topped sightseeing buses now :smiley: :smiley:

In my younger life as a bus driver I was in the Aintree depot Ormskirk Road and an old driver went under the Old Roan Bridge in a decker (empty thankfully) that was 30 seconds away from the depot, the funny thing was he had worked at that depot for 40 odd years and hit the bridge 2 weeks before he retired…doh :slight_smile:
He did clear the bridge and the roof was some way behind the bus :open_mouth:

No Sympathy… Driver would have know vehicle height…obviously wasn’t paying attention to the road signs etc. on entering that road from the roundabout, road signs clearly marked low bridge warning and directions for an alternative route… the bus then travelled a further half mile before getting to the bridge, plenty of side roads and industrial estates to turn around, so it kind dismisses the wrong turn theory more like a case of drive with undue care an attention

Must have hit it at speed, peeled the to off like a corn dog tin… :unamused:

On the plus side, now the bus company can boast an open top for the summer :grimacing: