Am I being stupid?

Hi

First Post, apologies if this kind of thing has been asked before. Basically im just seeking opinions on my current situation. Im an NHS senior nurse in mental health services, currently working with suicidal and high risk patients. Im 28 and worked in the NHS for 8 years. For the past year I’ve become so fed up of my career. My salary is fairly good but my job satisfaction is low.

Since i was a child I’ve always had an interest in truck driving. My old man is a hgv driver. The industry fascinates me. Im seriously considering starting my training. Im just concerned about the risk and the financial risk. My annual salary is about 40k currently. I know realistically i won’t be getting anywhere near this. Especially in the first few years. But should this put me off?

Would love some brutally honest opinions please before i make a significant life decision.

Cheers

No, you are not being stupid.
I have changed to HGV two years ago now currently class 2 and I wasn’t happy in my last job. It was a dead-end job without any meaningful progress. When I got trained up for class 2 I did work my last job until I had a decent paid offer. It was agency work for NHS supply chain and guess what I still work there nowadays and still as an agency driver. In your case definitely won’t let 40K job go.

Apply for medical do the paperwork - get your provisional and find a place where you can have trial lesson-just to get a feel of the machine (it’s awesome)!! you can get trained up and get your licence while you keep your current job as at the end of the day it’s always useful. (also will take your mind away from current work-related issues)

Now moneywise class 2 you wouldn’t be anywhere near that money-unless you find the unicorn company :slight_smile: in class 1 However can get very close to that after a few years if “correct” path chosen.