Always been a lorry Driver?

As above just wondering if folk on here had other jobs before becoming a hgv driver?

wee_gus:
As above just wondering if folk on here had other jobs before becoming a hgv driver?

no

Think we have had a similar post before

simple answer No

wee_gus:

Slater , rooftiler before i started driving but after a few months driving there was no turning back to the building sites :slight_smile:

I worked in a butchers shop, i passed my first year as a bricky,i was in the Royal Navy,i worked in a factory.i worked in a commercial garage.got my driving licence.drove a 7 tonner .then passed my class 2 then passed my class1 :smiley:

i got into it by mistake really, wanted to earn an extra few quid when i was younger, so i registered with an agency as a van driver doin weekend work, few weeks later, they talked me into driving a 7.5t for a company and that was it, got the bug and still doing it 15 years later, made it to class 1 now though :smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

you cant beat being out on the road, as long as you get your work done, you can basically do what you want, within reason

im a fully trained mechanic i did that untill i was 21 then drove a busses until i was 27 and went for class 2 and done it ever since (32 now).

Barman, kitchen porter, grill chef, publican among others before starting in this game in 1984.

Qualified as a Panel Beater/Paint Sprayer (aka: Motor Vehicle Body Repairer !).
Packed it in to go back packing around Europe, came back and signed on with an Agency as a Van Lad and climbed the ladder from there.

butcher, french polisher, furniture renovator,psv bus driver, 7.5 tonne, jumped straight to class 1 in 1993, was brought up in transport, (dad’s a driver) :slight_smile:

Warehouse op, pig farm manager, tv crew, car rental senior management (worked way up ranks over 10 years)

Driving far the best job - enjoyment and money.