Alloy wheels

I’m new to this so be gentle with me please!
I’ve just got a new motor (Mega space Actros ,just in case anyone gives a ■■■■) and it’s got Speedline Alloys, they look the nads when they are clean but pants when grubby. Anyone got any tips on what I can spray on them/polish them with to help keep them clean and/or make them easier to clean when they are grubby?

WELCOME biggerstuff :smiley:
I have seen professional alloy wheel cleaners use a type of ACID which they spray on but must be power hosed off within minutes !!

Welcome biggerstuff. :smiley:

welcome aboard, how about some pictures of the new steed.

there are plenty of helpers on here for polishing, but there is more knockers.

I grew out of cleaning and polishing truck wheels several years ago, but the main problem is the acidic brake dust which can corrode the wheels, the best thing is plenty of hot soapy water and manual labour. Dont let the sponge get dry as the dust is abrasive and you will remove the laquer which makes wheels look cack quick.

When you do get them clean and sparkling, try waxing them, avoid abrasive polish or compounds and never use wire wool. Avoid using Alibrite too often as it takes a layer off the alloy each time and when you do, follow Rog. dont leave it on too long, apply it, brush it in and rinse it off with lots of clean water.

I worked in a Jeep garage for a short period and it was the same principle, the minging farmers vehicles were washed properly when they were serviced, the ones which had been washed professionally every week had to have new wheels fitted under warranty.

I also had Speedline alloy wheels on an Acdross and dare I say they were absolute rubbish.What seemed like a plastic surface started to lift fairly quickly and the wheels soon looked worse than normal steels.Are Speedline still in existence ■■ certainly not a patch on Alcoa but they might just be cheaper.If it’s someones lorry forget them,if it’s yours save up for Alcoas