Agency's and Pensions

Good Morning All,

So it appears to be the norm for new drivers to expect to do some agency work to start with, unless you get lucky with an employer.

I was just wondering how pensions come into the equation, is it simple to manage your pension, do you add your own contributions (optional)?

Because i’ve read that agencys want you to work 3 months before they allow you a pension, not sure if they are all the same though.

any comments guys/gals :wink: cheers

gov.uk/workplacepensions

I’m by no means an expert, although I was offered a place as a trustee in my previous employment so know a bit about where I worked before, but that was for a final salary in house scheme. As far as I am aware you can choose how much you will contribute, and then your employer and the government will match that amount at 3:1 ratio. What I don’t know is whether there is a limit that you can put in, but I will look into that and get back. As it stands I dont think the legislation comes into force for a company that employs less than X (sorry not sure of the number) until October, although many have already opted in.

Most employers will try to auto enroll you at the minimum contribution level because the less you pay in the less they pay in, so you’ve gotta be prepared to say you’d like to pay in more. Whether they will take the hump if you try to pay in more is open for debate so maybe wait until the trial period (usually 3 months) is over before saying you’d like to increase your contributions as you’ll want to keep your nose clean until you’ve proved yourself. Realistically unless you’re paying in a minimum of £30/week you aren’t going to be getting anything to shout home about when you retire. Personally I’m going to be looking at paying in between £40-50/week. If you are young then £30/week would be a good starting point and don’t put it off, the younger you start the better!

Hi Tris,