agency work ??

Hi lads im moving to the uk in the next few weeks but am a bit confused on this agency work?

Can you explain this and is this best avoided and work directly for a company.

I am a experienced adr tanker driver and hoping to do this in the uk when I get there.

Thanks, brian

pump:
Hi lads im moving to the uk in the next few weeks but am a bit confused on this agency work?

Can you explain this and is this best avoided and work directly for a company.

I am a experienced adr tanker driver and hoping to do this in the uk when I get there.

Thanks, brian

Agencies promise the earth, all they give is unreliability and the type of companies that use agencies treat drivers with complete indifference as they can get drivers anywhere at anytime.

If you have any self respect, get a proper job.
At least you’ll know your working tomorrow and not sat at home waiting for a last minute phone call.

Assuming you have a UK-recognised licence and some sort of checkable employment history then the majority of agencys are looking for experienced drivers at the moment. The main thing you’ll need to sort out is how you are paid, as most of them are pushing some form of self-employed ‘umbrella’ scheme which you’ll find lots of posts about on this site.

If you are intending to drive full-time then Ltd Co. is the best way to go. If you are only doing a day or so a week then this may not be economic so PAYE (if you can find an agency doing it) is your next bet.

As mentioned, if you can get a permanent position then that is definitely a better option, but there may not be many companies hiring direct at the moment, depending on where you are going to be in the UK.

As you have experience plus ADR you will find proper work. Avoid agencys like the plague, without exception they are lieing parasites.