Agency Work

Hi All
Has anyone come up against a thing called Driver Negligence Insurance?
apparently the insurance company providing will not cover drivers unless they have 2 years experience
So I am new to this please let me know what I am doing wrong?
Chauffuerman :frowning:

chauffuerman:
Hi All
Has anyone come up against a thing called Driver Negligence Insurance?
apparently the insurance company providing will not cover drivers unless they have 2 years experience
So I am new to this please let me know what I am doing wrong?
Chauffuerman :frowning:

Even some permanent jobs advertised wont take you without having your licence for 2 years. Some also want 2 years experience driving.

Somebody with more know how on the forum could perhaps explain the 2 year thing?

Agencies pay for insurance to cover damage their drivers may do to a client’s vehicle and excess due on a client’s insurance.
The client whos owns the truck pays for the actual vehicle insurance, as you pay for your own car insurance. If a full time driver has an incident then the employer swallows the cost, as he has assessed the driver, and decided to take him on- that’s a business risk or cost. By using an agency driver many companies want the agency to accept and promise that the driver is safe and competent. So, since the agency says they supply good drivers they accept they’ll pay for any damages yo client’s truck etc. They take out “driver liability insurance” to cover this.
Seems like the company won’t insure people with less than 2 years experience.
Don’t sign anything saying you’ll be liable for any excess or anything will you? Not unless you’ve a spare ten grand in your piggy bank.

EDIT: If two years experience requirement seems unfair, then sorry, but the insurance companies have all the data, and it does show inexperienced drivers cost them more. . Catch 22 situation, but that`s it.

Hi Franglais
Thanks for the info