Agency work advice

Hi all. I am looking for advice for when I pass my class 2.

I currently have a crappy job but the hours are very flexible, basically as long as I do the time I can start whenever I like.

Now when I get my license is it best to sign up with an agency and stay at my current job as the agency work will be sparse, or what’s the best idea?

As a newly qualified driver I would ideally want a permanent job before I leave what I have.

Are there any employers who take on new class 2 drivers in this neck of the woods without experience?

I am in south Wales btw…sorry for the lengthy post :smiley:

If you can fit some agency along side your current job then gain some experience first, much easier to get a job with some driving time under your belt.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Valentine75:
If you can fit some agency along side your current job then gain some experience first, much easier to get a job with some driving time under your belt.

Just remember to stick to the daily and weekly rest rules if you do that

Valentine75:

This is what I currently do, but to be honest, because I can do only weekends, jobs are not flooding through my gates, few shifts so far and this is in London, multiple propositions of full-time jobs though. Thinking of doing Hiab, maybe this will improve situation. I was expecting opposite, my thoughts were " who wants to do weekends, nobody, but I will do, to get some experience " looks like there was some miscalculation :slight_smile:

If it were me, what I did was walk out of the job I had and signed up with a handful of agencies and they kept me busy. I suppose it’s up to you and your personal circumstances if you’re willing to roll the dice. I’ve been busy non stop since I passed.

milesahead:

Valentine75: