Agency Driver Database

:unamused: What do you think of this - depoelconsulting.com/add.htm
This company intends to sell Agency Driver info to anybody who pays for it.
Do you think it is right ? I don’t.
Could this lead to better things or worse ?

I have informed the DTi, (Data Protection Act) and asked them to look into this. They have replied and said they will, as soon as they can, they are very busy.

Don’t know whether its a good idea or not. I’m an agency driver myself and get hacked off with the generalisations made by regular drivers. I agree that the vast majority of agency drivers are worse than useless but some of us are dedicated, experienced drivers.

I would imagine this database records all the negative aspects associated with agency drivers such as smashing vehicles, losing loads, and so on. Will it record the positive ones too?

For example, last Tuesday night (2300 hrs) the agency calls me saying this company needs a generator taking somewhere urgently. Within half-an-hour of the call I’m out in the pouring rain (thunder and lightening too), loading and securing a 12 tonne set onto a six wheeler with the HIAB. An hour later, the customer is a very happy man because he’s now got power for his factory. Will this database show how flexible some agency drivers can be, at a moments notice?! The company’s own drivers couldn’t be bothered!

Having said that, would it be discriminatory only listing agency drivers? For it to be fair, shouldn’t all drivers be listed? And, shouldn’t the company providing the database ask individuals beforehand whether or not they want to be listed? It sounds a bit “one sided” like that “driving courteously” scheme!