Agency and Tax

Ok, so I’ve been working for Reliance for the past 3 months. Back in April, I done a days work for another agency, who paid via an umbrella, and apart from that 1 days work, I have had nothing else from them. At the beginning of August, said umbrella told HMRC they were my main employer, and screwed my tax code, from 944L to 362T, with Reliance as a 2nd employer with the same tax code. So I contacted HMRC and set the record straight, and everything was put back to how it was before, Reliance as main employer, tax code back to 944L, this was confirmed to me on 11th August, and had taken effect on 9th August. All has been fine with wages, until this week. Reliance pay wages on a Monday, and this week (19/08/13) I hadn’t been paid, so I rang Reliance, who told me that ALL my wages (3 days - £270) had been taken as tax by HMRC. So I contact Hmrc, who say they’re unaware of this, I do not owe any tax, and in any case, if I did, the maximum they can take in tax is 50%, so I would still have some pay. Reliance are saying they weren’t aware the tax code had changed, and had used the 362T code, and are sticking to their story of it all going in tax. They may, reluctantly, re-run the payroll but I’m not holding my breath, although that is the advice offered by HMRC.