Agency advice

Hi there, I’m looking to pick up some extra weekend work and was looking for advice on agencies. I’m based on West Sussex and was wondering who’s decent who’s not etc. I have no experience with an agency so any help much appreciated

Your search is perfectly timed to coincide with the “Bleak Season”

There is very little agency work around the Mid Sussex/Gatwick area right now. I understand it should pick up around March time ish.

I would be looking at the following:
The Best Connection aren’t bad but the pay rates aren’t the greatest but they will do PAYE - Not sure how busy they are right now - They got me my first Class 2 job so will work with new drivers
ExtraStaff in Crawley do PAYE but they’re pretty quiet too - I did see they were looking for a Class 2 driver last week though…
PerTemps - No personal experience but I’ve heard good things about them - I believe they do PAYE
ProRec Crawley - Again they’ll do PAYE but they were quiet last time I looked them up
JBS - They do Ltd Company, they wont do PAYE. They do some of the more interesting work at Gatwick like Snowploughs and Deicing the taxi and runways etc. I believe they have the DHL contract who were always looking for Class 2 Drivers at one point.
Staffline: They will do PAYE I believe they supply drivers to gate gourmet and the likes for the airport.

I would avoid:
Driver Hire in Crawley as they give you the choices of Ltd Company or Umbrella - No PAYE option unless that works for you - They never did find me any work.
Driver Hire Brighton (At Southwick) As they wouldn’t offer me work unless I signed a damage clause that allowed them to take any damage costs etc out of your pay - The pay rates were the worst I’ve had an agency quote on PAYE (Sub £10/Hr)
HRGO - No personal experience but I was told they like to force you into Umbrella only

Check out CV Library, Indeed and Reed and Total Jobs to get an idea what is out there