Agencies

I’ve registered with a few agencies who say they can get me some class 2 work experience but again they said it a bit quiet at the moment we will ring soon !
I’ve been honest with them saying I’m looking to gain experience etc
I’ve applied for jobs online but still no luck !!
I will keep trying.

That’s the world of agencies for you mate. You call them and every single one will tell you the same thing. “Oh we can get you as many shifts as you like. We have more shifts than drivers. We can have you out 5-6 days a week. No problem”. Then after you’ve signed up the phone never rings. and don’t be fooled by the ad looking for drivers for a specific contract. They don’t exist and it’s just to get you on there books
I’m an agency driver and I prefer It for the flexibility it offers but it comes at a price. I’m lucky in that my agency does actually seem to have shifts. But I’ve been with some who were “desperate” yet never called with shifts.
Just keep plugging away and join every single one you can. But agencies struggle to get new passes work. It’s unfair but that’s the way it works unfortunately. Maybe lookin for a full time job would be better for experience?

I signed up with my agency for a specific contract they were advertising. Signed up on the Friday and started on the Monday (1st December) and still doing it. Passed Class C a couple of weeks before so guess I’ve been quite lucky. That and being a few weeks before Christmas helped I’m sure…

Stick at it and as said register with as many as you can. I’m with 5 at moment and waiting for another 3 to process. They are getting me work, even turned work away as some was van work, told then it’s C or at very least C1 and I’d think about C1 if offered, they found me C so can argue with work offered.

Had to turn rest of this week down as got interviews for permanent work.