Agencies for new drivers?

Hello Everyone,

I am a new HGV driver class C passed in December 2013 and have my class C+E test at the end of the month. Have also completed my Drivers CPC and ADR core, packages, tanks and 7 classes.

Based in the Wiltshire area near Trowbridge was hoping that someone here could advise as to suitable agencies that can be recommended for new drivers.

I am quite happy to be flexible and do temporary work, any shifts with the eventual aim to be driving artics utilising my ADR preferably. Willing to continue training to add classes 1 & 7 to my ADR and Forklift RTITB and Moffett.

I have done all my practical training in Bristol with Mark Callaghan (Learn To Drive Me Ltd) and he has been a tremendous help so far. A very capable instructor who makes you think for yourself about what you are doing that has helped improve my driving significantly for both car and of course the real purpose of bringing me up to standard to drive an HGV professionally.

Any thoughts/advice on agencies will be most welcome and I’m sure may benefit others.

TIA
Maneman

I guess it varies from area to area but, when I was in the North East, Best Connection would take on newly qualified drivers. Here in Essex it seems most of them will.

Having a CE will also help when you are looking for permanent work as employers who run rigids and artics are more likely to offer a C driving job to someone who may be useful if they are stuck for a CE driver at some time.

Don’t waste your money on 1 and 7.

I would have a look at ADR Network. They are a national company with offices and contracts all over. They recruit drivers for Tesco, DHL,Co-op, Wincanton, Iceland,Morrisons etc