After reading AEC V8 thread-phew, but

Hi
I’ve only just joined as it took me so long to read the AEC V8 thread :slight_smile:.

But from that what I have learnt is that there are some incredibly talented and knowledgeable members on this forum and I am hoping that I can tap into some of that valuable encyclopedic resource.

I am an Ex forces mechanic from the 70’s onwards, i got posted to Cyprus and got introduced to AEC Mammoth Major Refuellers and the Scammell Crusader (which i took my test in) and from then on it was pure addiction.

When i finally left the RAF my claim to small fame was pulling an old AEC Reliance coach out of the ditch and getting it roadworthy, man that coach could shift, i shudder now to think what i did down the botley hill in oxford :slight_smile:

So that leads me to this bit:
I have spent a long long time to try and find info about AEC’s so that i can make a large working scale model to rekindle my youth, i had almost given up and was accepting that the best i could do was to study the pictures of the spares and service manuals i purchased on eBay, but then, i found some excellent pictures and information in the V8 thread that contained so much more than i have found over the last year or so.
I have already started on a working petrol V8 (Diesel is out i’m afraid), the chassis for it i would like to build is the Mammoth Major 6 legger V8 seen in those brilliant black and white pictures on here, i had no idea that was built until i had seen them, what a stunner.

It looks a wonderful beast and means my AV760 will have to wait for a couple of years.
If anybody is able to point an delusional man to any information i can use to build the scale model i will be eternally grateful, as what started as a model that’s close enough to a properly scaled model thanks to that thread :unamused: :grimacing:
Many thanks Malc