AEC MAMOTH MAJOR resto project

Hi all just seen this ad on Northwest agricultural and plant sell and seek on FB and thought I would pass on as someone may be Interested in an easy restoration project.
AEC Mammoth Major which is in Motherwell, North Lanarkshire asking £6500 which does not seem a great deal of money but I am no expert, says it only need’s a body and a paint job and looks a lot better than most people restore, hope this may be some ones dream motor and would be great to see her back on the road, there are five pictures on the advert here are three to give you an idea of the condition, speak to Gavin Bell & let me know if you take it on, cheers Buzzer.

Looks in great condition, I’ve forwarded this thread to a truck restorer I know, it may be too far away for him (he’s in east Kent) but as you say it would be good to see her back on the road.

Harry Monk:
Looks in great condition, I’ve forwarded this thread to a truck restorer I know, it may be too far away for him (he’s in east Kent) but as you say it would be good to see her back on the road.

y
Harry it looks like you could almost fire her up and drive her there and she’s got mudguards on, you could do it for your mate, Buzzer.

Taken at the AEC centenary rally Newark, May 2012

Bernard

Yes, that’s the one that was first restored by a group of friends in Northern Ireland, I would estimate 20 years since it first appeared on the rally scene.

I think it first appeared over here in 1998 at the AEC Rally at Wollaton Hall. If I remember what I read on the plaque on the front of the body, it was restored by a group of people at a college in Northern Ireland.

albion1938:
Bernard

Would that be a South Wales Reg No ? or was it maybe an ex Shell tanker chassis ? Bewick.

Bewick:

albion1938:
Bernard

Would that be a South Wales Reg No ? or was it maybe an ex Shell tanker chassis ? Bewick.

GX Dennis London (South East) according to my list

Stanfield:

Bewick:

albion1938:
Bernard