Advise on reversing a rigid

Hi all, i am a newbie who past the cat C test 2 days ago and am after any advise on reversing a rigid lorry. The lorry in question is about 33’ long with a steering rear axle.

Can anyone tell me how to judge how far away i am from something when reversing up to something, like a loading bay etc. I was wondering if there is a way by looking at one of the straps on the curtain in the mirror.

Also when pulling out of say a gate way onto a road, knowing when the back end has cleared before i can turn to avoid the tail swing hitting anything.

Thanks in advance
Chris

ren182:
am after any advise on reversing a rigid lorry.

Aren’t we all. :unamused: Especially those of us that drive artics most of the time and then, get into a rigid and find that the bloody thing steers the wrong way. :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Reversing. Use hazards. In the dark, they generate a ‘pool’ of light on the ground which gives you a rough idea where the rear is. Reversing up to bays, again hazards, they will start reflecting off the bay a foot or so before you touch it, even in daylight. Learn to judge how long your vehicle is in comparison to an artic parked on an adjoining bay. :wink:

Overhang. Apply steering slowly and gradually taking the widest arc. It shouldn’t be a problem in reality. If you can, spend some time watching bus drivers turning corners near where you live. You will soon realise that the dangers are relatively small.

ren182:
Can anyone tell me how to judge how far away i am from something when reversing up to something, like a loading bay etc. I was wondering if there is a way by looking at one of the straps on the curtain in the mirror.