Advise for the new guy

Hi guys,

I just wanted some advise regarding what trucking career to go down. I used to work for a company outside of trucking but I unfortunately knackered my back so I won’t be able to return there. I’m start my class 2 driving course this Saturday and was wondering where to start after completing it. My aim was to become an owner driver but I don’t have 50,000 sitting around to buy a truck. What would you advise me to do? Work on paye with a company, work as self employed for a company or become an owner driver by leasing ?

Thank you.

Is your back going to be an issue with trucking? I had to give up driving because of a back problem. It’s not all about sitting in a cab all day turning a steering wheel! (which can cause backache in itself, sitting in one position for hours)

I need to reduce the amount of lifting on a daily basis. I currently work in construction which is heavy lifting everyday.

Sounds like another typical see them on the motorway and imagine they do [zb] all except sit on their arse for a living, type.

go for it, you’re in for a hell of a shock though, you think your backs bad now :laughing:

I’d go PAYE as someone else then looks after everything including the very expensive repair bills for the trucks, O licence requirements, Operators CPC and all that stuff.

However, you will find class 2 work tends to involve a lot of handballing or at least manual stuff so would be careful what jobs you go for. Class 1 in theory has less of it, generally, depending what you’re doing. If it’s just the heavy lifting stuff that’s knackering it then you might be ok as I found it much less strain on your body than some construction jobs.

I should be fine doctor has told me its early days if i maintain my lifting and continue my excersises i should be fine hence why im leaving so it does not worsen. was having a look around and came across working as a limited company for companys is the pay as good as it sounds ? :astonished: