Advice/opinions needed for job search

Here’s hoping someone could maybe help me out.

I am a class one driver with minimal experience and am wondering what some jobs are like bearing in mind some employers preferences re experience.

Passed car test 1979 and I have driven 7.5 tonne for quite a few years with small multi drop deliveries, passed class 2 in March 2002 and class 1 in March 2003. (Clean licence)

Started off at the bottom roping and sheeting Class 2 & 1, then went onto
general haulage with curtain siders and 45’ trailers.

I was tramping on general haulage but due to the way I was treated I left after 6 months and returned to a previous employer where I am now. Catch 22!! I like the firm I am with at the moment as they treat me well but it is not the long term job I would prefer. They are aware I am only there temporary but as I have been doing roping and sheeting for what seems like a lifetime I would like a change.

What I would like to know is what are the following jobs like regarding pro’s & cons - containers, fridges, heavy plant/low loaders, RDC’s etc.

Any information would be appreciated and if anyone has a job based around the Sheffield area :smiley: that would be appreciated as well LOL

Thanks for reading

Fridges LOUD but in summer lovely aand cool if set at -25 plus you do not need to unload it yourself but does get boring.
RDCs take a thick book :laughing:

If you are going to argos make sure the Red cross know so they can drop you a food parcel in.

heavy plant/low loaders

Be prepared to start at the very bottom again :open_mouth:

STGO work requires learning a whole lot of new regulations.

Many trailers are very complicated to operate and most handbooks will have long been lost :blush: the only way to learn is work alongside experienced hands as the gopher.