Advice on refresher course please :)

Hi all, :smiley:

I am looking for a bit of advice on what you recommend/think would be beneficial to myself regarding a refresher course.

A little history: I passed my class 2 march 06 and went with a couple of agencies to get experience for a year, passed my class 1 March 07 and stayed with agencies I was with and got both class 1&2 work whichever was available. Anyway I badly broke my ankle at the end of 07 and it did not heal and ended up having a few operations, was not able to drive or work until 2010 but was having problems just driving a car so did not go back to driving hgv. Anyway all healed now but I don’t feel confident enough to just get out there, I don’t think many company’s would feel too confident about taking me on either. So feel a refresher course or 2 would help get my confidence back and sharpen my skill’s (not that I had chance to gain much experience or skill before-hand). So I feel like a total noob all over again, what do you think class 1 & 2 refresher, just class 1, couple of both …Advice would be helpfull as I don’t want to have too little, and mess up on the road but I don’t want to fork out too much money for more when it’s not really required.

Thanks

Peta

C+E refresher for half a day with some real life reversing such as backing into an empty warehouse unit on an industrial estate

All the 10+ year gap artic refreshers I did that booked a whole day and got bored after lunch because it had all come back by then

Once again I agree with ROG. Get 3 or 4 hours, preferably on an artic rather than w+d. A good trainer will ease you back in gently and not push harder than is fair.

You should also get a certificate which will carry some weight if issued by a qualified trainer.

Where are you?

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

Thanks for the advice ROG and Pete.

I’m in Stoke On Trent, Staffordshire.

Peta

I suggest Bassets on A34 near Stone.

All the best, Pete :laughing: :laughing: