Advice on becoming a freelance hgv driver

I’ve been driving class 1 for 6 years,I have my ADR licence which I use for my job at present.
I’m getting sick of being away five nights a week and I think being freelance I can be more flexible,me and my wife also wants to start a family,being away all week will stop that,my present employers want me away all week I’ve tried to talk to them.many thanks to listening to my rant any advice will be great.

Your timing is ■■■■! What part of the world are you in for starters? I’d stick with what you’ve got until next year to see how the economy goes to be honest.

welll as an se driver myself im away 4 nights most weeks unless you can find day work youll still be doing nights out

also youll have to set up a ltd company and pay your self through that. also get shut of the car and get a van as you can then claim the full cost of the eihcle through the bussiness if you have a car then youll only be able to claim mileage noting else. youll have to decide whather or not your going to charge nights out if your away you tax bill depending if you work all the time will be about 4k then youll have accountants fees and paye to pay for. oh i forgot you can forget havign a holiday for the first year as well

Thanks for that.I’m in hull working for isotank my main experience has
been powder tanks and now liquid haz tanks and general haulage I think
there’s slot to the saying it’s what you know but who you know.

alix776:
also get shut of the car and get a van as you can then claim the full cost of the eihcle through the bussiness if you have a car then youll only be able to claim mileage noting else

Check how much your car actually costs to run though cos if like me you run older cars you might find that the mileage allowance is a LOT more than your car costs to run.