Advice on 7.5 ton vehicals

Good afternoon everyone, my name is sean and a new member.

I would be greatful for some information from you guys in the know if possible. Im currently a delivery driver all be it driving merc sprinters all over the country.
my boss however has asked me to look at a fuel costs and distances to diferent parts of the uk as he is in the thinking process of expanding the company. But has me to research the info before buy said size vehical

So my questions.

1. Tacho, how do these work, and what are the legal hours to drive in a given 24 hour period.
  2. what is an operators license and what is entailed in this to conform to have such a license.
  3. whats the average pence per mile that i would expect from a 7.5 ton vehical. i know this depends on load weather conditions ie, head wind and the likes, just so i can do some rough calculations.
  4. We have to drivers with what we call these days grandfather license, with C1 on our license, would i be correct that we can drive these legaly on this providing we dont exceed 7.5t gross weight limit.

I assume i will have many more questions as time goes by, but any help on these, would be greatful, so i can present what i have found out in the morning to my boss,

regards
Sean

Welcome to TruckNET UK Sean.

sean46mc:

1. Tacho, how do these work, and what are the legal hours to drive in a given 24 hour period.

In brief you can drive up to 9 hours in a shift which can be extended to 10 hours twice in a week. The rules are quite complicated though, you can find a full guide here.

sean46mc:
2. what is an operators license and what is entailed in this to conform to have such a license.

Have a look here for guides on operator licencing.

sean46mc:
4. We have to drivers with what we call these days grandfather license, with C1 on our license, would i be correct that we can drive these legaly on this providing we dont exceed 7.5t gross weight limit.