Adjusting Air Suspension on Trailers?

Could i ask a very basic question ?
Could someone explain the lever normally situated at
the back of a trailer that adjusts the rear ride height of
the trailer.
I know this is to do with the trailer height when going onto
a bay but would like to understand it more.
Or have i got it about right.

Most work the same way, in one position normally down it is set for road use. moving the lever forward or back raises or lowers the suspension once at the level required, depending on the system, you then either move the lever into a lock position or it is spring loaded lever that goes back to the down position, but to reset it for road use you pull the lever out, instructions should be on the trailer.

Well, although I am very new to all these air suspended trailers and stuff , my understanding is that its main use is not so much to adjust the height to suit different bays, but to allow the trailers to be pulled, both here, and on the continent. We can run trailers at a higher level than they can in europe, hence the reason why you see a lot of foreign lorrys with smaller than average wheels and lower profile tyres. This lowers the fith wheel height on foreign lorrys, so therefore the trailer has to come down to allow the trailer to run level. We over here in Britain run on standard size wheels and tyres, so our running height is higher, so we pump the suspension up to level out the trailer.

Also, whilst the trailers are in transit, (Not the van!!), ie, on a ferry, all the air in the suspension is dumped, This makes the trailers more stable when they are strapped down to the decks of the ships.

Hope this helps, and if I got anything wrong, I’ll be corrected in due course :wink: … LOL