Absolute Newbie

Hi all,

I have read a lot on here the last few days and thank goodness for this forum, very educational in the truck driving world.

Over the last few months I have been deliberating on doing Class 2 as a major career change. This coming Saturday, I am going for my medical and getting paperwork sorted out at Wallace School of Transport, so this is the start of hopefully a new career for me. Its going to cost me a good few quid no doubt but fingers crossed it will be worth it in the long run.

My only dilemma if I pass Class 2, most jobs say minimum this or that experience, isn’t this a bit like the ‘chicken and egg’ scenario? I guess I’ll have to take whatever donkey work is available via the Agencies and build up experience from there, is this the norm to get started? And what about Class 1, same scenario again? Minimun experience etc etc?

Let us hope I am making the right choice but you don’t know until you’ve tried?

Answer to your questions; yes, yes yes.

Good luck! If there is one thing I have seen, its that this industry rewards those, who work hard, search hard and think hard, about what they are doing, who they are doing it for and how they are doing it.

The rest are miserable, whinging, journeymen who enjoy telling you how bad everything is in the industry.

Best of luck again, and don’t forget to let us know how your training goes.

F-reds:
The rest are miserable, whinging, journeymen who enjoy telling you how bad everything is in the industry.

Should I be offended? :open_mouth:
:laughing:

Experience is an often asked question and the truth is that it’s not too hard to get a start as long as YOU are prepared to start at the bottom and work your way up. Don’t be under the illusion that you are going to walk into the best gigs straight off the bat…

Yes you will see plenty of jobs asking for 1 or 2 years experience, and while at times this may be down to the firms insurance, there are plenty that put this down as a preference!