A Naive Wannaba

This is probably going over old ground for a lot of you but I’m a wannabe trucker living near Lincoln looking for a good reliable place to do my training. Unfortunately when you Google HGV Training the first sites that are thrown up are these ‘national’ companies who claim to have regional training centres , will get you through everything as quickly as possible ( which doesn’t say much for actual time behind the wheel ) and promise to virtually get you your dream driving job.
I know people can’t comment too strongly on companies , or individuals, on this site and I hope I’m not breaking rules here, I’m just looking for reassurance I’m heading in the right direction.
I registered my interest with a couple of these companies to begin with ( again hope I’m not breaking any rule here by naming them ) ’ The HGV TRaining Centre’ and ‘The LGV Training Company’ . The guy from the first company wouldn’t stop calling me after I showed an interest and I mean calling literally every day. Smacks of desperation I thought. I’ve only received one text, recently, from the second company saying they’ve cut the cost of some of their courses by quite a bit so not sure about them.
I only discovered this web site a few days ago but from what I can make out I should keep clear of the ‘national’ companies, and look for local established ones that where possible come with recommendation, I’ve only been in the area a few years but a few of the wife’s friends and workmates are beginning to recommend a few, SDS at Swinderby is one and I’ve heard that Denbys? are established but only train up drivers for their own business.
I 'm tying to find a few more ‘locals’ and haven’t really had time to have a good look around this site yet but any suggestions and comments would be much appreciated.

It’s probably a bit late for most so I’ll kick it off.

Don’t part with any money for the first 2. They are brokers. You will (I guarantee) get a bad deal from them.