A couple of driver card Q's

Hi all, my first digicard arrived today and I have a few questions. If anyone can help that would be great…
I work as a mechanic for a small haulier and only drive maybe 2 or 3 times a week loading tankers and MOT testing or tipping locally etc.
None of our units have a digital tacho fitted.

Do I have to keep the card with me at all times when I drive one of our units?

I also do outside repairs and maintenence for another local haulier who has digital tachos ( the reason for me getting a card)

If I collect or drive or recover one of his units and use my card do I have to do a printout when i’m finished and keep this with my charts?

Do I need to have the info on my card downloaded every 28 days whether it’s used or not?

If so do this local haulier have to download this info for his records?

Thanks, John.

the only answer I can give with confidence answers your first question. No , you do not have to have it with you driving your own analogue vehicles. UNTIL you have used it , then you do need to carry it at all times whislt driving etc.
I would do a printout for your own records but don’t think that it is compulsory.

My boss downloads cards weekly wether used or not but I would imagine that they must be downloaded regularly as if not then they will fill up and overwrite info.
I would have thought that it was your employers responsibility to download info, not the contractor you do jobs for. Although I can see that he may need a record of where and when and by whom the vehicle was being driven.
Someone will be along with proper answers soon. :laughing: :laughing:

rabbitboy:
Hi all, my first digicard arrived today and I have a few questions. If anyone can help that would be great…
I work as a mechanic for a small haulier and only drive maybe 2 or 3 times a week loading tankers and MOT testing or tipping locally etc.
None of our units have a digital tacho fitted.