7.5 Tonnes with no hgv Licence

A thought occured to me today. I am going to hire a 7.5 tonner to do a removal for my mate.
I have a class one and a digi card so ther will be no problem. my question is ,
If someone who has a 7.5 tonne licence on grandfather rights but does not have a digi card because he is not a driver by trade. how does he go on if he hires a brand new truck with only a digital tacho??

one for you Rog.

Provided he has applied for the digi card, he’s allowed to drive using a print out before and after the drive.

No application, no drive.

If he is using the 7.5 tonner for PRIVATE use, he doesn’t need to use tacho at all.

if its for private use (ie moving house) you do not need to put a tacho in it! i know this as i rung vosa to find out about the legalities for when i moved house 2 weeks ago!

Ditto i used a 7.5 tonner last weekend to move house and didnt use a tacho

206doorman:
Provided he has applied for the digi card, he’s allowed to drive using a print out before and after the drive.

Don’t wanna pee on your bonfire here 206doorman and if I’m wrong I’ll offer you a sincere apology but I’m almost certain that if you’ve merely applied for a digi card you are not allowed to drive a vehicle fitted with a digi tacho, whether you do printouts or not is immaterial.
I think the only time you can drive without the card is if yours is lost or defective and you’re awaiting a replacement. Max 14 days I think this applies for.

I thought what the maoster said was right (but 15days)

You cannot drive a vehicle fitted with a digital tachograph unless you have been issued (i.e. received) a digital tachograph driver card, where the use of that vehicle comes into scope of the EU drivers hours rules contained within Regulation (EC)561/2006. Printouts as a means of record keeping are not acceptable under these circumstances.