5th Wheel safety catch

I’m a part time agency driver so get to drive a variety of trucks.

Had a job at the weekend with a firm I’ve been to only once before and was presented with a nice 05 reg DAF 6x2 automatic. Its regular driver needed a lift back to his depot 30 miles away so came with me as I started my day. Great to have him there as although I’ve driven a couple of DAFs I’d never seen that type of gearbox and it saves a few minutes not having to look for all the switches etc. in an unfamiliar unit. With two pairs of eyes we sound found the trailer and once I’d coupled up he jumped down to wind up the legs and put the plate on. Nice chap.
As always, the first thing I went to do is check the coupling and attach the dog clip but couldn’t see a hole. He noticed my hesitation and came round to explain that as there’s a spring loaded catch tha :question: t drops down to block the handle this type of 5th wheel doesn’t have a catch. He explained that when new there was a bit of wire attached to the catch but this had been pulled off by rough use. The workshop had attached the chain as a replacement and that’s why it had a clip on the end bit was really only there as something to pull on.
This seemed a sensible explanation and while I was a bit unhappy about leaving the chain swinging about I could see that there was no way to release the handle without a considerable force being applied to the safety catch to lift it out of the way…and who better to ask than the regular driver whos been driving the same unit for 2 years, with the same company for 7 and with over 20 years international experience?

I finished my checks and pulled up at the gatehouse for them to check the seal and was impressed at how sharp eyed the security man was to spot the chain hanging down almost before he’d left the door. My “passenger” explained and demonstrated all that he’d said to me and we were allowed to continue.